Blood Red Ink Site Logo

Crime. Crime Writers. Crime Writing

Jane Casey Scoops Mary Higgins Clark Award at the Edgars

Posted by Sam Blake. No Comments so far.

Fabulous news for Irish author Jane Casey who landed the coveted Mary Higgins Clark Award at the Edgars earlier this month.

Each spring, the Mystery Writers of America present theEdgar® Awards, named after Edgar Allan Poe and widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre, honouring  the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theater published or produced in the previous year. 2015 saw two Irish writers on the shortlists Stuart Neville for The Final Silence (Best Novel) and Jane Casey for The Stranger You Know.

Jane CaseyHearing the news at home in London, Jane is understandably delighted – she told, ‘I’m absolutely thrilled to be the winner of the 2015 Mary Higgins Clark award for The Stranger You Know. Mary Higgins Clark is such a special writer – a trailblazer for women who write crime – and it’s a huge honour for me. I wasn’t expecting to win, not least because this year’s list of nominees included Sharon Bolton and a fantastic debut novel by Julia Dahl. I was nominated for this award in 2013 for The Reckoning so it’s very nice to come back with another Maeve Kerrigan novel and win it! It’s particularly special to be recognised in the US where there’s such a tradition of great crime writing and there are so many talented authors, and I’m very pleased for my loyal, lovely US publishers at Minotaur. I’m not sure how Maeve Kerrigan would celebrate, but I have a bottle of champagne in the fridge!’

Find out how Jane Casey plots a serial character here.

I loved The Stranger You Know, it kept me completely hooked and had some genius twists in it, it’s great to see it recognised at this level!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *